Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Questions for the Universe

Dear Universe,
I guess this is really more of a comment, for I have ceased asking why questions of you. The incessant whys of my children have inoculated me against reasons. So my comment – slash – question is really this:

Tomorrow I am buying a minivan. In the last three days my Subaru has nearly been aggressively smashed into twice in parking lots with me driving about 5 miles per hour. Here’s my thing you need to know, we are not getting rid of the Subaru. It is a good car. We like it. Matt will drive it and treat it well, we just can’t fit all three kids with their various car seats and shoulders into the wagon at this time. We still want the Subaru. Don’t kill it with your powers of unleashing bad drivers all over Connecticut.

As an additional comment – slash – follow-up question: We don’t want the Saturn, but please don’t kill it either. Just let us sell it to a college student and we’ll use the money to buy new tires, okay? please okay with sugar on top? I’m not even asking you why (oh why?, oh why?) this has been happening as I go about my business of, you know, going to the store for food and such and try to keep my heart beating in some what regular rhythm.

Karen

Additional note to mother of three in grocery store,
Dear other mommy of three adorable children,
Sorry. I do not as a rule let them have pacifiers at the grocery store. In general, we leave them in our beds, or at least in our own rooms for quiet play. And I know, they aren’t babies they are two and four, and yes, four years old is quite old for a pacifier. I totally agree with your three year old on that one, but I didn’t really want to take the time to explain Sensory Processing Disorder today, because I had to rush home to meet Thinker’s bus. Therefore, I ignored you – well, really your three year old. I heard her shouting, “Why they have passies, they not babies. Why mom? They cannot have those passies. Are they babies?” I realized you probably made her give hers up when your little 5 month old was born and yes, you are a better mother for it. You rock. I didn’t make eye contact when you said “maybe they are teething,” instead I got some popsicles from the case, but you were right, the two year old is teething pretty bad right now. And normally, they’d be nothing but we’d been to the doctor and LP has 4 vaccinations and a blood test. If I’d explained SPD you’d know how bad this day was for us and you’d have maybe asked your three year old to, you know, stop yelling at my kids. “You’re not babies, you can’t have those, give them back. maybe I teething too, huh?” Fortunately for all of us, my kids were distracted by the popsicles, so they didn’t notice the threats to their passies and their manhood.

So, again, I’m sorry. My slacker behavior opened a big can of why between you and your kid. However, I didn’t take it personally. We all have different rules and standards -and I was even bending my own today – and it is hard to know what to tell your kids when they observe that. I certainly struggle at the playground when some parents choose to let their kids climb up slides. Still we all survive. There is one tool I felt you had at your disposal that you didn’t use. I’m not criticizing, mind you. It just could have saved the both of us some maternal embarrassment (you felt too, huh?) We were at the store, which last I checked is inside. I think you were maybe distracted by the pacifiers, so I’ll just say those two little words for you should we all meet again with passies.
indoor voice

yours in the motherhood,
Karen

6 Responses

  1. Good golly. Twice in three days? Perhaps you should buy a tank.


  2. on 06/18/2008 at 7:42 pm | Reply cinnamon gurl

    Indoor voice indeed.Good luck with the vehicles.


  3. Ha! I love it. I probably would have told the little shouter that myself. “My, dear, don’t you think you should be using your inside voice?” And as an owner of two Subarus, I’ve love them. I think they drive a bit loud, but other than that, they’re great. But if we ever decide to have a third child, it’s minivan for us! Perhaps we could lobby Subaru to make a minivan.


  4. I don’t know how you do it. Stay strong! Sending protective energy for all the cars (including the new minivan)!


  5. on 06/20/2008 at 4:16 am | Reply painted maypole

    oy. what a day, huh?


  6. You know, when Monkey was three she already knew that different families have different rules. We simply have too many friends with such diverse rules on so many different subject that we were forced to explain that bit fairly early on. Of course, when she was three, even if she was shouting, she would have been doing it in the Old Country language. Which saved my backside more than a few times. 🙂 It still does, if I am honest.



Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

Questions for the Universe

Dear Universe,
I guess this is really more of a comment, for I have ceased asking why questions of you. The incessant whys of my children have inoculated me against reasons. So my comment – slash – question is really this:

Tomorrow I am buying a minivan. In the last three days my Subaru has nearly been aggressively smashed into twice in parking lots with me driving about 5 miles per hour. Here’s my thing you need to know, we are not getting rid of the Subaru. It is a good car. We like it. Matt will drive it and treat it well, we just can’t fit all three kids with their various car seats and shoulders into the wagon at this time. We still want the Subaru. Don’t kill it with your powers of unleashing bad drivers all over Connecticut.

As an additional comment – slash – follow-up question: We don’t want the Saturn, but please don’t kill it either. Just let us sell it to a college student and we’ll use the money to buy new tires, okay? please okay with sugar on top? I’m not even asking you why (oh why?, oh why?) this has been happening as I go about my business of, you know, going to the store for food and such and try to keep my heart beating in some what regular rhythm.

Karen

Additional note to mother of three in grocery store,
Dear other mommy of three adorable children,
Sorry. I do not as a rule let them have pacifiers at the grocery store. In general, we leave them in our beds, or at least in our own rooms for quiet play. And I know, they aren’t babies they are two and four, and yes, four years old is quite old for a pacifier. I totally agree with your three year old on that one, but I didn’t really want to take the time to explain Sensory Processing Disorder today, because I had to rush home to meet Thinker’s bus. Therefore, I ignored you – well, really your three year old. I heard her shouting, “Why they have passies, they not babies. Why mom? They cannot have those passies. Are they babies?” I realized you probably made her give hers up when your little 5 month old was born and yes, you are a better mother for it. You rock. I didn’t make eye contact when you said “maybe they are teething,” instead I got some popsicles from the case, but you were right, the two year old is teething pretty bad right now. And normally, they’d be nothing but we’d been to the doctor and LP has 4 vaccinations and a blood test. If I’d explained SPD you’d know how bad this day was for us and you’d have maybe asked your three year old to, you know, stop yelling at my kids. “You’re not babies, you can’t have those, give them back. maybe I teething too, huh?” Fortunately for all of us, my kids were distracted by the popsicles, so they didn’t notice the threats to their passies and their manhood.

So, again, I’m sorry. My slacker behavior opened a big can of why between you and your kid. However, I didn’t take it personally. We all have different rules and standards -and I was even bending my own today – and it is hard to know what to tell your kids when they observe that. I certainly struggle at the playground when some parents choose to let their kids climb up slides. Still we all survive. There is one tool I felt you had at your disposal that you didn’t use. I’m not criticizing, mind you. It just could have saved the both of us some maternal embarrassment (you felt too, huh?) We were at the store, which last I checked is inside. I think you were maybe distracted by the pacifiers, so I’ll just say those two little words for you should we all meet again with passies.
indoor voice

yours in the motherhood,
Karen

6 Responses

  1. Good golly. Twice in three days? Perhaps you should buy a tank.


  2. on 06/18/2008 at 7:42 pm | Reply cinnamon gurl

    Indoor voice indeed.Good luck with the vehicles.


  3. Ha! I love it. I probably would have told the little shouter that myself. “My, dear, don’t you think you should be using your inside voice?” And as an owner of two Subarus, I’ve love them. I think they drive a bit loud, but other than that, they’re great. But if we ever decide to have a third child, it’s minivan for us! Perhaps we could lobby Subaru to make a minivan.


  4. I don’t know how you do it. Stay strong! Sending protective energy for all the cars (including the new minivan)!


  5. on 06/20/2008 at 4:16 am | Reply painted maypole

    oy. what a day, huh?


  6. You know, when Monkey was three she already knew that different families have different rules. We simply have too many friends with such diverse rules on so many different subject that we were forced to explain that bit fairly early on. Of course, when she was three, even if she was shouting, she would have been doing it in the Old Country language. Which saved my backside more than a few times. 🙂 It still does, if I am honest.



Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

